Some of the recent changes in Google’s advertising platforms that took place relates to the length of the text in ad blocks. According to them, now the advertiser is able to have two 30-characters long headlines, instead of one that was 25 characters long. This made Google ads look differently, influencing the CTR. According to Google’s research, such kind of change increases the click-through-rate up to 25%!
Experts from WordStream, the popular internet marketing agency claim that there is an obvious explanation for this growth of the number of clicks. Advertisers use some catchy phrases, offering discounts, better prices and revealing some details of their offer. As a result, the website visitor gets more interested in this advertisement, than it was before.
Google also claims that the change is useful for advertisers as well. With more space for a headline, they will be able to get more targeted traffic. It means that the people who click these headlines will understand the offer better, which results in a higher conversions rate.
Following this strategy, Google has expanded the description field too. It became up to 80 characters long, what resulted in even more information from the advertiser, delivered to the end user.
For those, who run their own Adwords campaigns, this gave a new opportunity for testing. A larger ads field means more ways to catch your visitor, to inform him about your business advantages and to provide him with some necessary tips that lead to completing your offer.
Google always changes something in its ads policy. One of the latest changes related to the combination of Google Maps and Google Adwords. Both of these services were mixed and Google announced that its ads will be presented in Maps. It will obviously result in more ads on Google services and on more tools for business to attract new customers. But what is so significant in combining these platforms?
The actual result of this combination is not that unexpected. Now users, who search something in Google Maps, will be able to see the logos of different shops and services on the map. By clicking on the logo, a user will open the tab with a promo information from the shop. For example, it will be presented with some discounts and special offers; some landing pages, etc.
It’s obvious that Google sees the potential of implementing ads into their map service. And Google is right: according to their statistics, about 30% of all mobile searches are location-related ones. Many people search some places and routes every day with their smartphones and tablets. Second, location-related searches become faster each year. People used to work with their devices and discovered how comfortable it is.
Implementing ads into Google Maps, the searching monopolist is going to connect local businesses and active mobile users. It provides users with choice and information about the local business around them. As a result, it may create a new advertising industry with billions of dollars in it.
All of the factors that influence your advertising campaign’s Quality score are calculated automatically. Google indexes your URL, scans your META and checks many other parameters. As the result, some score is given to your ads.
Google uses different algorithms and methods to calculate this parameter. Several years ago it was much easier to get the QS, equal to 7. The score of 6 and less was given to some really non-optimized projects. Today the situation has changed. The score of 5 is given to some ‘neutral’ websites, while 7 is not so easy to be achieved. As the studies show, it resulted in the higher impact of the Quality score on your advertising budget in comparison with 2013 and years before.
In order to save your money on advertising, you should do your best to get a higher Adwords Quality score. You can do this only by following Google’s recommendations on how to optimize your ads. And one of the best tools that will help you in this is Adwords Performance Grader. It’s a free service that analyzes 8 key metrics of your project, showing the percentage of its completion. If your ads meet Google’s requirements, the service shows 100%. If you do wrong, you get 0%. Changing your landing page, making some improvements allows getting a higher Quality score and a lower cost per click.
As a result, your business prospers, receiving new customers for a lower price!
If you use Google Adwords, you should probably have already faced the category of ‘Quality score’. What does it mean and why is it needed? Let’s learn more in this article!
The first thing you should know is that quality score influences your Adwords cost per click directly. The higher it is, the less you pay. This happens due to a specific formula that lets count your price per each click for your Adwords campaign. It looks like this: the ad rank of the advertiser, who is below you in the results, subdivided by the quality score you have, is added with $0.01. The result shows your cost per each click.
Let’s imagine that your maximum bid is equal to $2. The quality score of your ads is 10 (out of 10). In this case, your Ad rank is 2 multiplied by 10 (20). Now let’s count your cost per click. Let’s imagine that a person below you has an Ad rank equal to 18. Then your cost per click is equal to 18/10 + 0.01 = $1.81.
In order to decrease your cost per click, increasing your quality score, you should pay attention to two main categories: the relevance of your website and the user experience. The relevance includes the relevance of the keywords you use, of the ad you are going to launch and of the URL your project has. These 3 factors are highly important for your advertising campaign. User experience influences on how effective your website is for a user, how comfortable it is.
Google Adwords offers a lot of tools for launching successful campaigns on the web and attracting more new customers. One of such useful tools is automatic targeting. It obviously exists for targeting some new keywords without your control. What is it needed for and how can you use automatic targeting for your business? Let’s find out more about this!
First of all, automatic targeting has two different types: aggressive and conservative. They use different approaches for finding new niches and markets, to deliver your ads to a new audience. Aggressive targeting is used to reach a broader circle of your potential customers. If your main keyword is ‘pen’, aggressive targeting will show your ads to people, searching ‘whiteboards’ and ‘desks’. Obviously, if you run an online shop with all of these goods, this approach will be much preferable, than the conservative one.
Talking about this type of automatic targeting, we can say that it reaches the much narrower audience. For example, it may be targeted to people, who search ‘blue pen’ or ‘the Parker pen’. If you are specialized in this niche, you won’t be selling desks and whiteboards. That’s why this strategy is better for a business in the narrower niche.
Anyway, automatic targeting is precious for people, who run their campaigns in Adsense. Using this tool, you can expand the circle of your audience, get new customers and engage new people, who may be interested in your products. However, automatic targeting may be risky if the system will pick the irrelevant category. In order to avoid it, use the lists of the negative words.